Say Anything

I think I may be suffering from Blogger’s Block. My friends have been nudging me to update my blog, and every time I sit in front of the computer I’m stumped. What do I have to say? My friends have advised me to just “say anything” so that is what I’m doing.

Maybe it’s just that I’m happy. I’m enjoying my life, I’m playing some of the best pool I’ve ever played, I had my first decent WPBA tournament in a long time…what else is there?

How about a strong opinion guaranteed to piss people off?

I’m often asked why I don’t play in WPBA qualifiers. In fact, I was once criticized in a public forum by a past tour operator because “Jennifer thinks she’s too good for us now”. Not so. I respect the qualifying tours tremendously. I know there are girls who can play well enough to do serious damage on the tour. I don’t go to qualifiers because I remember being completely disheartened to end up in a bracket with a top player, and to know that my chance to win was a lot lower than a girl in the other bracket.

Now, I know people will say that you have to beat the top players anyway when you get on tour, but does that mean I should also have to beat them just to get there? I swore to myself that I would never take that chance away from a girl who needs it. I don’t want to help randomize the result. I want the best girl at the qualfier to win the spot. Now, I’m not saying that I’m going to beat everyone there, but if I happen to beat the girl who would have otherwise gotten the spot then the damage is done.

Some say qualifiers would be good practice for me, and I agree, but if I want to practice I have Tony Robles’ Predator Tour, the Joss Tour, the Tri-State Tour…the list goes on. The only way you will ever see me playing in a qualifier is if I ever need to re-qualify. I just hope that someday the rules will change and qualifiers will be like they are in other sports. Tournaments for girls who need to qualify.

6 thoughts on “Say Anything

  1. Nice to see you posting again.

    I think that when life is good, there is a tendency not to post because there is nothing to complain about (a popular reason for blogging). When things are going well, you want to enjoy the moment and telling the whole world isn’t necessarily your first thought.

    🙂

  2. I totally agree with you. Good for you and keep up the good playing. I enjoyed playing a few games with you in Orlando at a State tournament a few years ago! I ran out on you 2 times in a row but you were too busy to watch me do it ! 🙂

Comments are closed.