I’m back!

One of my New Year’s resolutions is to focus on making pool a career again, and practice is probably only half of that equation. I have been so busy with life that I really haven’t put much effort into the business side of pool. I’ve been practicing more than ever, and that is starting to show in my higher finishes, but looking for sponsors, booking exhibitions and, as you may have noticed, updating my blog, have all fallen off my radar in the last 6 months or so. I’ve been practicing a lot, and competing more than ever so I really have no excuse. I will do my best to change that.

Anyway, I just got back from the WPBA Masters in Michigan where I had my highest finish since I took a year off. All that practice must be paying off, right? Well, if it is, it certainly didn’t show in my play. I mean, I played downright awful. I struggled with controlling my cueball, I struggled with pocketing, I struggled with staying composed. All in all it was a disaster, but I was lucky enough to draw opponents who were in the same throes of inconsistency. The funny thing is, in the past few events, I’ve been playing great and losing. Maybe this was payback for that? Whatever it is, I’ll take it.

In the meantime, I’m going to do a serious self evaluation to try to figure out why I self destruct from time to time and how to rescue myself when I’m drowning in poor play. I’m going to work on the flaws in my physical game and try to make them strengths. I’m going to start working out again because a strong body equals a strong mind for me. I’m going to compete as much as possible and watch Accu-stats matches. And yes, I’m going to update my blog regularly, and be as brutally honest as I possibly can because there is something cathartic about putting all of your fears and insecurities into a post and sending them out into the blogosphere.

4 thoughts on “I’m back!

  1. Always remember this Jennifer, You are a CHAMPION. You could not have attained the level you are at without tireless dedication and striving for perfection. You may be struggling to get back there but you just need to find your hunger again. Your hunger for victory and doing your absolute best may have subsided because you may be happy with past accomplishments. Find your hunger for winning again and your problems will be solved. (That’s just my guess). I wish you all the success in the World. :-))

  2. I’ve seen Shane Van Boening struggle with some of the same issues and I believe it boils down to a strong desire to win and improve on past accomplishments. Don’t be satisfied with accomplishments of the past but set new goals. At the same time don’t stack too much pressure on yourself for attaining these goals. They should come easily. You are a Champion and don’t forget it.

  3. I know what you mean about winning more with luck than skill these days. Played in a Friday night 8-ball tourney this last week in which I shot decent, but certainly not well enough to win with my game, but in each match, my opponent made a crucial error and left me outs.

    Good luck on your new years focus and all the best success in 2011!

    By the way this is your personal year of 4, and it is interesting reading your first blog for 2011, and what a year of 4 says about you.

    Personal Year 4. . . .Hard work and slow, but steady progress
    This is a number 4 personal year for you. The previous year frivolity will now be truly forgotten, as the facts of life are clearly spelled out. This is a year of hard work and effort when one must knuckle down to the task at hand. A year of digging in and hoeing, a reestablishment of self-control. In many ways, however, it is a frustrating year, when considerable effort fails to produce dramatic results. One step forward and two back may seem to be the case most of the time. This is an organizational period and you must look at your current and past performance in a very hard light. It is a time to get organized and bring yourself down to earth. Responsibilities will increase, magnifying the effort and hard work needed to maintain a reasonable level of existence. Health and diet should be carefully scrutinized this year, as physical resistance is low and you may become more susceptible to ailments. A tidying up of affairs is now in order, as you must make ready for a very hectic year ahead.

    Ken Schortgen
    National Billiards Examiner
    http://www.examiner.com/billiards-in-national/kenneth-schortgen-jr

  4. Woot! Glad to see you’re blogging again Jenn. I keep telling myself to blog more but can’t ever seem to squeeze out more than a couple posts per month.

Comments are closed.