Another Love Letter to Pool

20140201-101421.jpg

Dear Pool.

I know I said I would love you forever, and a part of me always will, but I’m starting to think we’d be better off as friends. Our relationship is so awful right now that no matter how much I give you always want more, and I’m tired. I still want you in my life, but I don’t think it’s healthy for me to be with you every single day.

I know this seems out of the blue, but you see, I’ve met someone. His name is Work, and he knows how to treat me right. Things aren’t always easy, but he makes me feel worthwhile, and the more I give to him the more I get back. He takes me to nice restaurants and buys me beautiful clothes, and makes me feel appreciated. I finally understand what a healthy relationship is.

It may sound cliche, but I do still love you, I’m just not in love with you. Maybe this time apart will make my heart grow fonder, but now that I’ve met Work I’m not sure I could live without him. Work isn’t possessive or jealous and it’s ok for me to spend time elsewhere. I really hope that we can remain friends because I would still enjoy taking trips together and spending some quality time with you. I think we should start over again. Try to rebuild some sort of relationship where we enjoy each other. Maybe we can spend the afternoon together a few times a week. Lunch will be on me.

Sincerely

Jennifer

2 thoughts on “Another Love Letter to Pool

  1. Dearest Jennifer,

    I’m sorry that I’ve let you down. Those other girls… Ewa, Jeanette, Allison and the others, they aren’t important to me. If you give me another shot, I’ll break with them, you can bank on that. I can say it with extreme English or I can draw it, I’d follow you or jump when you call. Don’t leave me behind the eight ball.

    When you get bored with this Work fella, I’ll be here, hanging out in bars, with empty pockets. Hurry, don’t lag. We can chalk this up as a miscue.

    Love,
    Pool.

  2. My Dear Jennifer,
    I also read your other love letter (2012) to Pool. Maybe your relationship to Pool is based on the wrong basis. I, although I have also a love/hate relationship with Poolz, it’s more of a connection/relationship like a musician to his/her instrument like when I spent several years of my youth playing the trumpet or the concert pianist to their Steinway Grand when playing a Brahms/Mozart concerto, except this time the cue is my instrument, the cue ball pool are my music instructions much like the instructions at the beginning or in the sheet music (beat, speed, type(s) of spin to be applied or not applied), and the rest of pool balls, well, they are my notes on the sheet music. And although sometimes I would miss-hit on a note while playing the trumpet (while practicing or even in a concert — God forbid because everyone (other musicians, the audience) knows what you just did), you have to move on forward according to your sheet music to keep up with everyone else in progression till the End. Even professional concert pianists and musicians will occasionally miss hit on a note if you listen carefully, but I play basically because I LOVE playing, I Love being in the zone, and I love wiping the notes off the table before my opponent does when everyone is watching like a musician in concert. Musicians practice so they can learn a piece music and have it in their head, so they aren’t forced to do a first-time cold read in front of everyone at a gig/concert. I practice for the same thing and because my instrument also requires/demands it (and to get better and not to have so many missed notes)– I try not to get too inventive on new shots making especially in a league/tournament match because it usually does not turn out well, but if I watch someone and learned something new, you can bet right after our match I’m hitting the practice table to learn its technique and practice it until I have at least the fundamentals of it down– mastery of it comes later on at my own practice sessions– but even then sometimes I will miss hit on a note– after-all I am only human, not Super Human, at least not yet.

    Thanks for being my doubles partner against Hunter & team at the Super Billiards Expo. It was an experience that I’ll never forget. Best with your future relationship with Pool. Eric

Comments are closed.